Staff Sync

SchoolPoint can sync staff user accounts from KAMAR to create or update existing user accounts. As long as your KAMAR Directory Services are set up correctly, we now sync data from KAMAR to SchoolPoint as changes are made.
Check you Directory Sync is set up correctly HERE

For staff to correctly sync through to SchoolPoint from KAMAR

Staff MUST have their valid school email address in the 'school email' field in KAMAR- see more details below. This can't be greyed out it must be typed in.
New Staff are imported to SchoolPoint with NO Permissions and thus NO access to SchoolPoint. See our new help guide to assign default group permissions HERE

How to View KAMAR Sync History

This is useful for viewing when the sync last happened and what type of data is coming through, to ensure it is up to date.

Navigate to Users in left menu => KAMAR Staff Sync => View KAMAR Sync History Button

Syncing previous years' data into KAMAR after January 1st

As the KAMAR and SchoolPoint timetables default to the next year's timetable after the 1st of January each year, a manual export will need to be done to get any data across to KAMAR after this date.

Under SETTINGS => Sync to KAMAR ( KAMAR Reports ADMINISTRATION page), select year level to export under the "KAMAR Export" button.

Once imported to SchoolPoint with valid email and password, Administrators must give Permissions to the Staff member in SchoolPoint. We do not automatically allocate permissions as we can not assume which users you would like in SchoolPoint or which permissions they get. Again, see the above guide on Default Permissions to allow staff to have some permissions on import to SchoolPoint without manually assigning these.

You can edit each user to assign permissions or use the Bulk Assign feature in the Manage Users area to edit multiple users at once.

How to check if a Staff Member is in SchoolPoint

Users => KAMAR Staff Sync => Search staff member
If the staff member appears in this list and shows "No School Email entered in KAMAR" in red as per screen shot, then they will not sync across into SchoolPoint, therefore will not be able to log into SchoolPoint. You will also not find them under the Staff Users area either. In that case, you will need to go back to KAMAR => update the email address AND ensure they have a valid password in KAMAR. The automatic sync should take around 15 minutes or so.

KAMAR Staff Sync

Creating Permission Groups in SchoolPoint

Navigate to Users in the left Menu => Permission Groups => Add new permission Group => SAVE
(this is also where you will choose if you want to make it a "Default Permission Group" for all new staff coming from KAMAR until more detailed permissions are assigned by your administrators).

Creating Permission Groups

Assigning Staff to a Permission Group (once created)

Navigate to Users in the left menu => Staff Users => check all staff boxes that apply to one particular permission group => Click Bulk Edit button at top => Assign to Learning Areas and Permissions Groups => SAVE.

Default Permission Group

Here, you can also reassign permissions, replace permissions and archive selected user accounts

Assign Permissions

Permission Group Conflicts and Multiple Permission Groups
Please note that if you have staff in multiple permission groups, certain permissions will override others.
"View and not modify courses" WILL override permission "Edit courses".
"View and not modify courses" WILL override the "Manage costs/ contributions limits on courses", therefore NOT allow course costs to be editable.
"Move students from their selected course" needs to be selected to allow Staff to add students to courses/ move from courses.

Permissions and Conferences
When staff are assigned to a conference they will have automatic access to their own bookings and students, and be able to move their times and add students etc.
In order to be able to view the whole conference- so all staff and times, or create and edit the whole conference, then they will need the permission in Settings => Permission Groups => Conference Bookings; then "Create Conferences" checked.

Restricting Permissions

Navigate to Settings in the left menu => Course Selection. Look for "Allow Teachers in Charge of Courses to Edit their own Courses"
Select "NO" from the drop down, 'YES" or "View Only". => SAVE changes.

Note: When this setting is set to "NO", only staff members who are super Admins will be able to make course changes.

How to setup viewing and moving Students Selections:

With the above permissions you can also allow the users to view which students have selected each course. They can do this by viewing the course and then viewing the data table at the bottom of it.
They will need the following additional permission: See & Move Students.

How to setup Permissions by Learning Area:

Navigate to Users in the left hand menu. Select the Staff member/s that you would like to set up Permissions for. Select the "Edit" button if you are only creating a Permission for one Staff member, alternatively select the "Bulk Edit" button for multiple Staff members. Select the check box for your Learning Area => Click "Save".

Note: If "Manage Selected Learning Areas ONLY" is ticked, then it is a requirement to also tick either "View Courses" or "Edit Courses" so that either the editing function is available to the Staff Member, or view only. They must tick one of these options before they will see their list of courses.
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!